I just had a very strange thing happen. Allow me to tell you the whole story.
Since I upgraded to Mac OS X Tiger (10.4), I have been looking around for cool Dashboard Widgets. One of my discoveries was Daily Verse which shows a Bible verse per day. For some reason, I clicked on the letters NIV in the bottom right corner of the app, hoping to change the Bible version I was reading (to NKJV). Instead, I was taken to ChristNotes dot org and their page about the KJV. I know, it’s not right.
Continuing with the bizarre coincidences, I clicked on the first Google ad I saw. Why? It said “Homosexuals Forgiven: God’s New Law Welcomes the Gays”, and I was curious. This contentious subject is especially interesting to debates amongst Christians, so I thought I’d see what they had to say. It turns out that End Bible dot com exists solely to sell or host Tim Fleming’s personal Bible. This crazy add-on to God’s Word is Tim’s insane ramblings about his own experiences seeing God in person and hearing Him revise His own Word. I couldn’t form any concrete picture about Tim’s goals from the work, and he doesn’t seem to have any agenda. It’s kind of like reading a first draft of the Book of Mormon.
Anyway, there were no links to follow up with and nothing in the source code of the pages to suggest that there’s an organized cult somewhere, so I decided to dig a little deeper. I did a WHOIS on endbible.com and found the owners address and phone number. Again, a weird whim struck me, and I decided to call the number. I wasn’t really expecting an answer, but, strange luck, Tim Fleming himself answered the phone.
“Hello?”
“Uh, hello. … is this Tim?”
“This is Tim Fleming.”
“Did you write this, online EndBible?”
“Oops! Gotta go!” click
How weird is that? I called him back and left him two voicemails, one asking him why he advertised and what he meant in his wacko Bible, and another giving him a chance to reply before I posted everything on the web. While I was doing that, I found his number also listed on Toasted Spam dot com as both a spammer and an illegal telemarketer. His other website, startnewlife.com, seems to be dead.
I just thought I should post about this guy, so that the world will know. Hopefully, every decent website will pull his nutso’s ads off their sites!
bible crazy mac